It's a Miracle is Chokebore's fifth and final studio album, released in Europe on April 16th, 2002, through French label Pale Blue, on CD only. It was recorded by Frances Miranda (an alias of Manny Nieto) at Wet & Dry studio in Los Angeles, CA (USA), during summer 2001, following the band's April European tour promoting the Strange Lines EP.

It's a Miracle is the second Chokebore album recorded with drummer Christian Omar Madrigal Izzo, who had rejoined the band in August 1999.

As for their previous album Black Black, the record's artwork was designed by Kevin Hanley.

It's a Miracle did not produce any singles, but it did spawn a music video for the song Ciao L.A. This would-be single was then re-recorded in summer 2002 and released in October the same year on two music magazine compilations (Rolling Stone #01 in France and All Areas Volume 32 in Germany) to promote the album in Europe.


Apr 2002: CD – Pale Blue [pale blue 001] – Europe


  1. Ciao L.A.
  2. Geneva
  3. I'll Save You
  4. Snow
  5. Be Forceful
  6. Ultra-Lite
  7. Police
  8. I Love Waiting
  9. Person You Chose
  10. Little Dream
  11. She Flew Alone



recorded at Wet & Dry studios, Los Angeles, CA.
engineered by Frances Miranda
tracks 1,2,5,6,7,8,9 and 10 mixed by Frances Miranda and Chokebore
tracks 3,4, and 11 mixed by Jason Bacher and Chokebore
mastered by John Golden at John Golden Mastering
artwork/ photography and sleeve design by Kevin Hanley
all songs written and performed by Chokebore
2002 Chokeboresound


  • Frank G. - Bass
  • Troy B. Balthazar - Vocals, Guitar
  • Christian Omar Madrigal Izzo - Drums
  • Jonathan K. - Guitar


Following on the heels of what is one of this reviewer's top 10 records of all time (Black Black), Chokebore's new full-length It's a Miracle is everything I should expect it to be. Released only in Europe thus far, It's a Miracle starts out with a much lighter sound than we are familiar with, while at the same time having some of the darkest lyrics of the whole album. This record is much more balanced than Black Black was, in that it moves easily back and forth from upbeat to slower, more desperate songs, and seems perfectly fit together. Highlights include Ciao L.A., Snow, Geneva, and She Flew Alone. The guitar work is even more discordant than their previous efforts, the songwriting has definitely taken a more mature turn, and Troy's vocals, while always unique, are put to new and interesting tests while remaining one of the most original and interesting voices of any band. If you can afford to throw down the $17.00 to order this gem from France, you will get every penny's worth of enjoyment out of it.

Chris Smith
Geek America
July 1st, 2002


It's a Miracle lyrics